Australian Council of Graduate Research - ACGR (formerly DDoGS)

The Australian Council of Graduate Research Inc (ACGR), formerly The Council of Deans and Directors of Graduate Studies in Australia (DDoGS), is a not-for-profit forum of university representatives engaged in graduate research.  The purpose of the Council is to promote excellence in research training and scholarship and to seek to maintain and continue to improve national standards for all graduate research degree programs.

ACGR convenes biannually, generally in April/May and November. Conferences and workshops are facilitated by a biennial Executive Committee, comprising of seven full member representatives: a Convenor, an ex officio and five additional full members. Support to the Executive Committee and Convenor is provided by an Executive Officer.

​Full membership is open to all Australian universities engaged in graduate research. The Council also welcomes associate membership from institutions in Australia and internationally. Approval of annual membership fees for the following year takes place at the second annual meeting.

The Council provides Graduate School Deans, Directors and industry partners with an opportunity to share ideas, exchange professional development resources, and network. ACGR convenes biannually to discuss national agenda issues in research training and share best practice.

Incorporation and change of name from DDoGS

The Australian Council of Graduate Research Inc was formally incorporated in Victoroa as a member-based organisation in April 2015.  A special meeting of all full members was held during the April 2015 Conference to endorse the incorporation of the Council and rename it as the Australian Council of Graduate Research Inc. The constitution of the Council adopted at the meeting is available here